After two consecutive cancellations due to weather the Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway finally took the green flag on the season. Diligent work by the track crew got the track ready for the roar of engines and smell of racing fuel Last season’s records were erased and everyone started the night with a vision of finishing their season on top. The night would put a spark in some of those dreams and leave others with work to do.

Shawn Haydon looking to improve on a strong 2009 pounced to the lead on lap one of the feature event and began to put the hurt on the field. As the field neared the halfway point it was Jerry Winkler on the move grabbing the fourth spot. Joe Wittman would move to the inside of Haydon on lap 11 to no avail as the top four cars began to hit lap traffic. Wittman would use a lap car to perfection grabbing the lead on lap 13, while Jerry Winkler grabbed third from Patty Winkler. Wittman would build a commanding lead only to have the red flag displayed for a Jerry Winkler roll over. Winkler was ok. Wittman would nail the restart and lead Haydon, P. Winkler and Jeff Jungwirth to the checkers.

Street Stock
Heat Winners Ryan Brandes, Jerry Winkler, and Joe Wittman

Brian Henry performance was often overlooked last year, so this year he decided to do something about it taking a commanding lead in the opening laps of the feature event. Jim Rhode would grab second for the early part of the race as Tim Warner and Troy Weich gave chase. The Red Flag would fly for a flame under the Weich machine. Under the Red Warner would be penalized for not obeying the flag and put to the back.Jason Fish grabbed the second spot on the restart but Henry continued his domination. Fish and Rhode would battle it out for second with Larry Richards in fourth. Checkers would fly with Henry your winner, Rhode second and Richards third.

Grand Nationals
Heat Winners Tim Warner, Jason Fish, and Jim Rhode
B Main Winner: Tim Doehling

Brian Drexler and Jamie Schmidt brought the Competition Products Modifieds to the green in their first feature of the year. Mike Mullen would jump to second on lap 2 and put heavy pressure on Drexler. Meanwhile, Jeremy Christians would take third with Schmidt holding fourth. Caution on lap 5 would slow the field as a car slid to the infield in corner two. Mechanical issues for Mullen would take him out of the race under the caution. Jay Schraufnagel would grab second as problems claimed Christians on lap eight. The restart would kick off a great battle up front as Scott Mullen grabbed second and gave chase of Drexler. Drexler would continue to lead the field an begin to pull away only to have another caution bring the field to his back bumper. Scott Mullen would blast into corner one and grab the lead on the outside of Drexler and then run away. Drexler would grab second with Schraufnagel third.

Heat Winners Mike Mullen, Mike Klenz, and Brian Drexler
B Main Winner: Travis Spaulding

Justin Bessette took the lead early in the Lynn’s Service Center Dirt Devil division. Matt Janke would begin to apply pressure on lap six with Steve LeMay in third. Caution would bring the leaders back into a tight group for the restart with LeMay grabbing the lead. Kathy Pierrard would take the second spot until mechanical issues ended her night on lap 12. LeMay would continue to maintain a comfortable lead to the end grabbing the first feature of the night. Erik Kollmann was second and Jason Fairbank third.

Dirt Devils
Heat Winners: Justin Bessette and Kathy Pierrard