Dominoes Pizza and B104.7 Presented Racing at the Zone

by Dave Buss
Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway finally returned to action after losing the battle against Mother Nature the past few weeks. Joining the action for the first time in 2010 would be the Legends division. The racing action was fast and smooth as the night saw very few caution flags in the heat and B main races.

Total Power Sales Street Stocks

Daniel Knaus used his front row starting spot to perfection as he built a big lead only to have a caution eliminate that lead on lap four. Nate Gross and Brian Long would take the row behind him as they took the restart. Long would spin out of two bringing out another caution before another lap was complete. Gross would grab the lead on the restart and bring Jerry Winkler with him to second. Shawn Haydon grabbed third with Travis Grissman to fourth. Caution would fly again and the race would be checkered due to the time limit. Haydon would be awarded the win with Gross second and Winkler third.

Heat Winners: Travis Grissman, Nate Gross, Jerry Winkler

Miller Lite Grand Nationals
Gary Neau would take the early lead in the Miller Lite Grand National division. The trend of yellow flags would continue on in the second feature of the night. TJ Smith grabbed the lead on lap five and began the battle to hold off Tim Warner. Smith would use a great restart to build a comfortable lead over Warner but Warner would continue to fight back. A late caution and restart would spell the end of Smith’s run though as Brian Henry took to the high side and took the lead and the win. Warner was second, Smith would take third with Tim Doehling fourth.

Heat Winners: Paul Tod, Brian Henry, Tim Warner

Competition Products Modifieds
A power pack field of Modifieds took the green in the feature event of night hoping to see a little less of the yellow flag. Travis Spaulding would grab the lead on the start with Mike Mullen moving to his rear bumper. Spaulding would lead until Mike Mullen grabbed the outside groove and went to the lead. A caution at the halfway point brought the field together for a ten lap shoot out. Scott Mullen would grab second on the restart with Spaulding back to third. Jeremy Christians would put the pressure on Spaulding for the third position as lap twelve was put in the books. Mike Mullen would continue to hold the lead as positions were swapped behind almost every lap. In the end, it would be Mike Mullen holding on for the win with Christians second and Chris Engels third.

Heat Winners: Jeremy Christians, Mike Mullen, Joey Jaeger
B-Main Winner: Charlie Ewald

INEX Legends
Dallas Ross would take the early lead in the Legends feature event with his brother Ethan taking the second spot. Grant Greenfield would move into second and close in on Dallas as we hit lap six. Greenfield would take the lead on the next lap with Joe Johnson moving to second and Ross to third. Greenfield would cruise to victory with Johnson and Greg Hartlaub rounding out the top three.

Heat Winners: Joe Johnson, Loren Zuhlke

Lynn’s Service Center Dirt Devils
Andrew Melberg grabbed the advantage at the drop of the green in the feature event of the Lynn’s Service Center Dirt Devils. Tim Simon grabbed the lead on lap four with Jason Fairbank and Matt Janke rounding out the top three. Fairbank would continue to pressure Simon for the middle part of the race with Janke waiting to pounce. As the race neared the end it was Simon all alone with LeMay, Janke and Fairbank fighting for second. LeMay would grab that spot with Janke and Fairbank rounding out the top four.

Heat Winners: Tim Simon, Matt Janke