Inaugural Fall Classic Rocks the Zone

by Dave Buss
The first two day special in many years opened up on Friday night at the Speedzone with 140 cars checking into the pit area. Cars from across the State in five divisions would battle it out on the Opening night for a spot in the Saturday night feature event. The event continues tonight with racing scheduled to start at 5 pm.

Taking a quick look at some of the evenings highlights

Grand Nationals
The Grand Nationals would be the only division running a feature on opening night of the Fall Classic and it would be TJ Smith with the early advantage. A lap seven caution would bring the pack to Smith’s back bumper. Alex Stumpf would line up with John Schultz on the restart behind Smith. Smith would again pull away under green with Schultz in second and Larry Richards moving into third. Brian Henry would join the top four with six to go. Smith would continue on to pick up the win with Richards second and Henry third.

Heat Winners: Alex Stumpf, John Schultz, Nick Schumacher, Larry Richards, Troy Weich
B-Main: Will Source,

Sport Mods
For the second time all year the Northern Sport Mods took to the racing surface at the zone. All cars were guaranteed spots in the feature on Saturday night.


The Street Stock were also all in the feature tomorrow night so tonight they ran for starting positions.

Heat Winners: Jerry Winkler, Ryan Brandes, Josh Novak

With 43 Modifieds in the pits there would be some work to be done to get one of the fifteen spots that were available tonight for the feature event tomorrow. The Top 2 in each heat would qualify. The next five cars would come from the second set of heats. The winner of the second round of heat races would also qualify with all other cars needing to try to qualify on Saturday through the last chance races.

Heat A Winners:Brian Mullen, RM Van Pay, Scott Mullen, Brian Drexler, Jared Siefert
Feature Qualifiers: Mike Sandholm, Jay Schraufnagel, Mike Klenz, Joe McGrath, Jamie Schmidt
Heat B Winners: Aaron Rake, Eric Scribner, Mike Rettler, Chris Engels, Mitch McGrath

Dirt Devils
All cars make the feature.
Heat Winners: Stephen LeMay, Dan Juscyck