SpeedZone August 5 Results

Oshkosh, August 5- It was a special Tuesday night edition of the Oshkosh SpeedZone racing season to open the 2014 Winnebago County Fair. A perfect day brought out a very nice crowd to watch 122 cars compete on a very racey 1/3 mile oval.

Brian Henry eased into the lead of the Goldstar Racing Products Grand National feature with John Schultz III, Terry Van Roy, Terry Schoppenhorst and Tim Reichenberger behind. Several cautions in the first 7 laps kept the pack bunched, but after the final restart, Henry took off and was able to cruise to his 3rd straight feature win and 4th of the season. Van Roy followed Henry the entire race and was challenged by Larry Richards over the final laps, but claimed the second place finish, with Richards third. Charlie Sancinati started last in the field and finished fourth with Jeff Richards and Reichenberger rounding out the top six.

The IMCA Sport Mods were on track next with Mark Howe, Scott Howe, Rods Solem, Colten Van Hierden, Jon Schultz and Steve Schneider behind. Several cautions slowed the pace over the first 6 laps, but when the final green appeared, Van Hierden had worked into the top spot and took off to build a lead on the field. Point leader, Ryan Besaw, Schneider, Adam Peschek, Schultz and Clint Forstner were running for second. Van Hierden was able to open a several car length lead early and was able to hold the margin over the final half of the race to collect his second straight feature victory. Besaw and Schneider were strung out behind the leader and finished that way with Forstner winning the race for 4th with Peschek and Schultz rounding out the top six positions.

The Outlaw Chassis Street Stocks put 21 cars in the feature lineup and ran a very competitive main event. Jeff Wicinski led the opening 2 circuits before Jim Pollnow took over on lap 3. Ryan Blank, Lexii Ashcraft, Dan Knaus and Patty Winkler behind. Pollnow spent laps 3 – 9 as the leader and the field tight behind.

There were 4 cautions in the race with the final one flying on lap 14, setting up wild 6 lap dash to the finish. Blank was able to sneak inside Pollnow for the top spot on lap 10 and actually opened a slight lead as the battle for second was getting hotter lap after lap. Patty Winkle, Jerry Winkler, Steve Gawaresky, Mark Schultz, point leader, Jeff Jungwirth and rookie Steve Ecker ran three wide and swapped positions back and forth over the final laps and it was Blank, holding off a hard last lap charge by Ecker, that was able to hold off all challengers to put his name in the record books, winning his first ever SpeedZone feature event.

Ecker, and Jungwirth were scored next in line with Jerry and Patty Winkler finishing in 4th and 5th, with Gawaresky rounding out the top six positions.

With 37 Automotive Supply Company IMCA Modifieds checking in, a 24 car field took the green for the feature event. Taylor Scheffler led the first lap before Travis Spaulding took over and despite cautions over the first 3 laps, was able to maintain the lead and after the final restart, was able to pull away from the field. Scheffler settled in second place with the battles behind leaving the leaders to run alone. Brian Drexler, Brad Lautenbach, point leader, Sean Jerovetz, T.J. Smith and Mike Mullen were in a fierce battle for third.

A final caution appeared just as the white was supposed to fly, forcing a 2 lap dash for the finish. Spaulding and Scheffler now had the entire field right on their rear bumper. Spaulding was able to open a lead again off the restart leaving Scheffler alone to work for second place. Lautenbach was able to overtake Scheffler for second in the final tally, with Jerovetz also getting by on the final lap to take third. Scheffler made the top five with Mullen and Eric Mahlik rounding out the top six.

The Total Power Sales IMCA Stock Cars were led by Randy Schimmel for the first lap before Rod Snellenberger powered by on the inside and took off to hide from the field. Hot Rod opened a several car length margin quickly with Larry Karcz, Jr., taking over the runner up spot on lap 3 and set out to track down the leader. The two leaders were running their own race in front with a tight battle for third brewing for much of the rest of the race. Karcz slowly closed the gap on the leader with a hand full of laps left and inched closer as the final laps went away. Karcz made a last lap charge on the leader and pulled alongside entering turn three, only to have the lone caution of the contest fly, ending Karcz’s attempt and giving him the runner finish. John Heinz powered through traffic and was able to secure third ahead of Mark Scheunemann, Dylan Heilmann, and Justin Jacobsen.

The win for Snellenberger was his second of the season here and gave him 2 straight this week, having won a Seymour on Sunday. It also ran his career total to 198 division feature wins.

After an opening lap incident, the Ellington Mutual Insurance Dirt Devils set out to run the final event of the night. Nate Lisowe took charge at the start and paced the field until Kasey Gross took over on lap 4. Point leader, Shaun Bangart, moved into the runner up spot on lap 8 and right up on the outside of the leader. The pair ran side by side for a couple laps before Bangart found the inside line open and took charge. Gross dropped back before charging again and following a couple cautions on lap 14, emerged as the leader again with Bangart getting involved with Justin Erickson for second. Gross was able to maintain the lead for the final laps to win his 2rd feature of the season. Erickson won the battle for second with Wes Lungwitz, Seth hickman, Jason Fairbank and Bangart rounding out the top six.

There will be no rcing at the SpeedZone this Friday because of the Fair, but will return for the re-scheduled Walk of Fame night on Friday August 15. The George Scheffler Memorial, Hales Corners

Reunion Cornbelt Late Model series race will be at the SpeedZone on Friday August 22.

The Oshkosh SpeedZone Raceway is a featured member track of , a website dedicated to bringing fans the best possible coverage of local short track racing.



20 Lap Feature l. Travis SDpaulding 2. Brad Lautenbach 3. Sean Jerovetz 4. Taylor Scheffler 5. Mike Mullen 6. Eric Mahlik

10 Lap Consy First l. Mike Wedelstadt 2. Joe McGrath 3. Tony Wedelstadt 4. Jerry Muenster

Second l. Ed Lemay 2. Jeremy Christians 3. Mike Mueller 4. Shaun Frelich

8 Lap Heats First l. Jerovetz 2. Marcus Yarie

Second l. Rick Robbins 2. T.J. Smith

Third l. Matt Klenz 2. Brian Drexler

Fourth l. Scheffler 2. Lautenbach


20 Lap feature l. Rod Snellenberger 2. Larry Karcz, Jr 3. John Heinz 4. Mark Schoenemann 5. Dylan Heilmann 6. Justin Jacobsen

8 Lap Heats First l. Snellenberger 2. Karcz, Jr

Seconds l. Heilmann 2. Travis Van Straten


20 Lap Feature l. Colten Van Hierden 2. Ryan Besaw 3. Steve Schneider 4. Clint Forstner 5. Adam Peschek 6. John Schultz

8 Lap Heats First l. Van Hierden 2. Brekken Kleinschnidt

Second l. Schultz 2. Besaw


20 Lap Feature l. Brian Henry 2. Terry van Rpy 3. Larry Richards 4. Charlie Sancinati 5. Jeff Richards 6. Tim Reichenberger

8 Lap Heats First l. Van Roy 2. Jeff Richards

Second l. Terry Schoppenhorst 2. Tom Schneider


20 Lap Feature l Ryan Blank 2. Steve Ecker 3. Jeff Jungwirth 4. Jerry Winkler 5. Patty Winkler 6. Steve Gawaresky

8 Lap Heats First l. Rich Garb 2. Blank

Second l. Jungwirth 2. Jim Pollnow

Third l. Frank Knaus 2. Jerry Winkler


20 Lap feature l. Kasey Gross 2. Justin Erickson 3. Wes Lungwitz 4. Seth Hickman 5. Jason Fairbank 6. Shaun Bangart

8 Lap Heats First l. Gross 2. Trevor Spaulding

Second l. Bangart 2. Erik Kollmann