Third Annual Fall Classic Beats Rain Threat On Opening Night!

SEPTEMBER 7, 2012; OSHKOSH, WI – A vast majority of the persistent showers scattered throughout the eastern half of Wisconsin managed to miss Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway. Track officials managed to work in the three-quarters of an inch of rain did fall in the mid-afternoon hours and the end result was a fast, smooth and racy clay oval. Fans which endured a one-hour delay to get the track in prime condition would witness 19 heat races which ran with minimal interruption. The entire program was completed by 9:30pm and the band Southbound which was brought in for entertainment was able to start their live concert early.

A totaled 144 cars checked into the pit area, the number hindered somewhat by the weather in the area and as teams realized racing was still on a steady stream of cars continued to enter the pit area during the program. It is expected several additional teams will be appearing on day two of the Fall Classic in effort to try and make the main events through the consolation races.

Heading up the program was the IMCA type Modifieds which checked in with 41 entries. Drivers would have two opportunities to qualify into the main event tonight as two sets of heat races were held. Two drivers from each heat would be locked into the main event. All totaled, 16 of the planned 24 starters were able to lock into the show tonight.

Heat race victories would be captured by Eric Arneson, 2012 track champion Brian Drexler, Eddie Muenster and Mike Mullen in the first round of heats, while second round heat races would go to R.M. Van Pay, Benji LaCrosse, Kevin Feck and Chad Bartel.

A pair of consolation races will determine the balance of the feature field.

Of the 28 Sport Modifieds on hand, 12 were able to lock down starting spots for tomorrow’s main event. Victories went to Jarred VanLannen, Todd Weise and newcomer Jessi Ness who drove a car normally driven by Angie Wolf and she promptly made her first visit to Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway’s victory lane.

Rod Solem who has won the feature race in the Sport Modifieds at the last two Fall Classic races would bring out the evenings only red flag when he tagged a tire heading into turn one before rolling twice. Solem emerged from his car unhurt but now has the additional challenge of repairing his car and then attempting to transfer into the main event through the consolation race.

In Street Stock action 23 drivers participated tonight with 12 spots being locked down in heat race action. Victories went to Kelly Brown, Trevor Schmid and Gary Kasperek.

The IMCA type Stock Cars made their Fall Classic debut. Though their numbers were lower than anticipated, the class lived up to its reputation for close quarters racing. Heat race wins were collected by Mitch Stankowski and Jon Courchaine. The IMCA Stock Cars were well received by the crowd and it’s likely they will remain a part of future Fall Classic events as their own division.

The 4 Cylinders saw 22 participants with wins going to Kasey Gross and Ralph Legious.

The Grand Nationals also participated in the program with the lone heat win going to Don Sorce Jr.

The 3rd Annual Fall Classic will conclude on Saturday. Pits will open at Noon with racing action set to get underway at 3:00pm. Drivers who were unable to attend the Friday Night portion of the show still have the opportunity to try and qualify for the feature races through consolation events.

Grandstand admission for the Saturday program is $15 each for adults and $10 for students.

Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway is a 1/3 mile semi-banked clay oval located at the Sunnyview Expo Center which resides near the intersection of Highways 76 and County Trunk Y in Oshkosh.

Fans and drivers are encouraged to visit the track website at for additional information on upcoming racing events. Fans can also friend the raceway on Facebook at and you can receive all the latest updates from the track on twitter as


First Heat: 1.) Eric Arneson; 2.) Marcus Yarie; 3.) Jerry Muenster; 4.) Jason Czarapata
Second Heat: 1.) Brian Drexler; 2.) Scott Mullen; 3.) Benji LaCrosse; 4.) Joe McGrath
Third Heat: 1.) Eddie Muenster; 2.) Tim Lemirande; 3.) Kevin Feck; 4.) Brian Mullen
Fourth Heat: 1.) Mike Mullen; 2.) Jon Schultz; 3.) Mitch McGrath; 4.) Kyle Lentz

First Consolation Heat: 1.) R.M. Van Pay; 2.) Czarapata; 3.) Eric Scribner; 4.) Johnny Whitman
Second Consolation Heat: 1.) LaCrosse; 2.) Kyle Fredrick; 3.) J. McGrath; 4.) Mark Weisnicht
Third Consolation Heat: 1.) Feck; 2.) B. Mullen; 3.) Ed Lemay; 4.) Tyler Hackett
Fourth Consolation Heat: 1.) M. McGrath; 2.) Chad Bartel; 3.) Pat Zdroik; 4.) Lentz

First Heat: 1.) Jarred VanLannen; 2.) Kevin Bethke; 3.) Cody Hokenstadt; 4.) Jason Guyette
Second Heat: 1.) Jessi Ness; 2.) Brad Ambroziak; 3.) Mike Dauphinias; 4.) Jeff Schmuhl
Third Heat: 1.) Todd Wiese; 2.) Jake Solin; 3.) Jon Schultz; 4.) Brian Bruechert

First Heat: 1.) Mitch Stankowski; 2.) Mike Coel; 3.) Dave Degrave; 4.) Tim Doehling
Second Heat: 1.) Jon Courchaine; 2.) Harley Simon; 3.) Jamie Colwell; 4.) Jesse Colwell

First Heat: 1.) Kelly Brown; 2.) Jerry Kope; 3.) Jerry Winkler; 4.) Matt Warner
Second Heat: 1.) Trevor Schmid; 2.) Kenny Richards; 3.) Derek Leckner; 4.) Eric Derks
Third Heat: 1.) Gary Kasperak; 2.) Ronnie Mink; 3.) Justin Lindner

First Heat: 1.) Don Sorce Jr.; 2.) Kenny Richards; 2.) Brian Henry; 4.) Troy Weich

First Heat: 1.) Kasey Gross; 2.) Shun Lee Bangart; 3.) Brian Johnson; 4.) Jeff Behm
Second Heat: 1.) Ralph Legious; 2.) Mike Montie; 3.) Patrick Kalwitter; 4.) Tim Simon