Winnebago County Fair Races to a Start

by Dave Buss
Total Power Sales Street Stocks
On track introductions brought the field to the front stretch to begin the Total Power Sales Street Stock feature event. Andy Gross would use his Pole Position to perfection as he grabbed the early lead before a lap two caution involving 4 cars in corner three. Gross would take the lead on the restart with point leader Shawn Haydon giving chase. Another caution would fly with ten to go as Gross continued to lead Haydon. Further back Jeff Jungwirth was moving forward after starting the race in the back of the pack.

Yellow would fly again this time causing the race to be checkered for time. Gross, would pick up the win with Haydon and Travis Grissman in the top three.

Heat Winners: Jeff Wicinsky, Jon Schultz, Jerry Winkler

Miller Lite Grand Nationals
Terry Van Roy would show signs of his old self early in the Grand Nationals feature as he took his car from seventh to the lead in five laps. Nick Schumacher would pull to the outside of Van Roy at the half way point. Van Roy and Schumacher would race side by side for a few laps before caution flew over the track. Steve Schneider would make an impressive move to briefly grab the lead on a restart but would slip back to fourth as Van Roy, Jim Rhode and Schumacher would get back around him. Van Roy would hold off a late Shumacher charge to pick up the win. Jim Rhode and Larry Richards rounded out the top four.

Heat Winners: Brian Monday, Terry Van Roy

Competition Products Modifieds
Chris Engels would take to the point at the drop of the green in the Modified feature event and build up a one second lead over Scott Lewis, subbing for John Schultz. The race would restart and Travis Spaulding would blast to the lead with Scott Mullen following behind. Spaulding would then begin to disappear. Engels would grab second back from Mullen laps later with Drexler also getting by Mullen. Spaulding would have a lead of more than three seconds when caution would fly for Lewis with four laps to go. Spaulding would cruise to victory with Engels, Drexler, and Mullen behind.

Heat Winners: Brian Drexler, Scott Lewis, Dennis Schultz
B- Main: James Steffanus

Lynn’s Service Center Dirt Devils
Mark Kuhfuss would dominate the Dirt Devil feature leading from green to checkers. Not much to say about this one as the drivers did an excellent job keeping caution free. Matt Janke and Dan Juszczyk third.

Heat Winners: Steve LeMay, Erik Kollman